Photo Shuffle-Sundial

I pressed ‘Play’ on my Ipod and this is what I heard….

“Sundial” By the Travelling Band

My Ipod could not have chosen a more perfect song to play for me today. I am heading into a long weekend. This is my favorite time of year and the weather is cooler now. It is nice to have that little chill when you get up in the morning. Similarly, there are a lot of songs that give me a little chill whenever I play them. It might be the harmonies, or a particularly well played solo, or it might be the entire song. As I wrote about here in 2011 I fulfilled my number one music related bucket list item in attending a festival in England. I was beyond excited to be there and the first band I heard when I finally arrived was The Travelling Band. After I got my bearings, breathed a sigh of exhilaration and got myself a beer, they played this song. Even though it was the middle of summer, I got the chills deep inside. I can’t really define why exactly. The performance just excited me and whenever I hear it again those chills come back again. Along with a big smile at the memory.

The reason I chose this photo (which I actually only took last week near our apartment) is for one line from the song-

“Cause we’re all sundials, casting shadows on the ground”

Light is of course both the friend and the enemy of a photographer and it can be tough to find a balance in a photo, so there was just something about the line, ‘we’re all sundials’ that knocked me back when I heard it. Whenever I load my photos up on my laptop and see the results of a photo like this,  the interplay between the sun and shadows  always makes me think of that line in particular. And I get a little chill. Happy Weekend Everyone!

Sundial-Written By The Travelling Band

Follow Me on Facebook-https://www.facebook.com/SoundtrackPhoto

Follow Me On Twitter-https://twitter.com/SoundtrackPhoto

Follow Me On Instagram-https://instagram.com/soundtrackphoto/

All Photographs By Robert P. Doyle

*Photo Shuffle is a new, very short slice of my regular blogs based on setting my Ipod on shuffle and matching up one of my photographs to whatever comes up.

16 thoughts on “Photo Shuffle-Sundial

Leave a Reply

