Photo Shuffle-Clampdown

I pressed ‘Play’ on my Ipod and this is what I heard…Clampdown, By The Clash.

The song that popped up today on the shuffle has provided probably the easiest song and photo pairing I have ever done. Much has been written about the importance and history of The Clash over the years. A band that came along at the right time in rock and roll history with little regard for playing it safe, and a middle finger raised upwards to anyone who got in their way. The aggression and attitude in the music and songs was balanced by great music. Punk rock sometimes gets erroneously labelled as three chords played fast and aggressively. Hearing The Clash you realize how incorrect an assumption that is with music that is tinged with reggae, ska, funk, and with a nod to the early roots of rock and roll. Maybe even more importantly, their song lyrics spoke to a generation of disenfranchised kids in a way that mainstream rock and roll was not doing.

That can be said about much of the punk ethos in fact.  Much like with hip-hop, punk inspired art and fashion (not to mention hairstyles) soon developed. Like most anything that becomes popular the original intent can sometimes become diluted, and the music and fashion become very different than the origins. One area that I like to think keeps some of that punk ethos that I am seeing more of lately is street art. It isn’t something I paid much attention until this year I have to admit.

Moving earlier this year from Manhattan to Queens one thing I noticed early on was that it was everywhere. On fences, walls and metal shutters you can scarcely walk a block and not see some form of it. In fact not far from where we live is an entire area dedicated to it called the Welling Court Mural Project. Building and property owners agree to let artists use their space as the artist’s canvas. The art varies from esoteric and dreamlike, to that more subversive and punk aesthetic. The overall Street Art movement seems to be growing. Now that I am more in tune with it, I seem to spot it everywhere now, and not just in my neighborhood. So it was that in May I noticed this great memorial to the late great Joe Strummer of The Clash in Greenwich Village. Which is why my choice of photos here was so easy!

Follow the Welling Court Mural Project on Instagram- https://instagram.com/wellingcourtmuralproject/

Clampdown-Written By Joe Strummer & Mick Jones

Follow Me on Facebook-https://www.facebook.com/SoundtrackPhoto

Follow Me On Twitter-https://twitter.com/SoundtrackPhoto

Follow Me On Instagram-https://instagram.com/soundtrackphoto/

All Photographs By Robert P. Doyle

*Photo Shuffle is a new, very short slice of my regular blogs based on setting my Ipod on shuffle and matching up one of my photographs to whatever comes up.

7 thoughts on “Photo Shuffle-Clampdown

  1. Sounds like The Clash was the NWA of punk rock lol. In that mural you posted, do you know who that guy is on the far right? He kinda looks like an artist named Lecrae!

    Like

    1. Twice, four times..whatever you want! This is the ultimate compliment, thanks Liza! 🙂 I’m not a punk listener much myself. The core groups are about it for me typically. It definitely helps emotionally to charge me up sometimes. Little bits of metal do that for me too. But The Clash were just so good. I listened to them all my home from work tonight and the range of sounds they came up with. It wasn’t just that punk stuff, but reggae, dub and funk. They even hit on early rap music. Thanks so much for the comment you young punk you! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha.

        Yes, I agree that they were so much more complex than what people traditionally think of as punk (like you said in your posts).

        The Clash on a Friday night on your way home from work–sounds like a good start to the weekend. Hope you have a good one!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you, I hope you do as well. And oh yeah…sitting on the subway reading my book and bopping to ‘London’s Burning’ and ‘Rock The Casbah’, doesn’t get any better than that! Though I bet people were wondering what I was listening too!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Our 1st NYC Blog Meetup Roundup: Absolute Success! | The Thought Card

Leave a Reply

