Photo Shuffle-Ted The Mechanic

I pressed ‘Play’ on my Ipod and this is what I heard…Vavoom: Ted The Mechanic, By Deep Purple.

There are many truisms in life as we all know. Moments that can be summed up in simple phrases. We get a lot of them from our parents growing up especially.  “Two wrongs don’t make it right”, or “a watched pot never boils.” All true of course and ones we relish passing on ourselves as we get older. However there are other types of truisms we only learn as we grow older, that come from situations and places we only encounter as adults. One that I have gradually learned to heed and not partake in anymore is not to discuss heavy subject matters in bars. No politics, no religion and in my case, definitely not who should play left field for the Yankees next year.

Though some of  this comes to play in Deep Purple’s song Vavoom:Ted The Mechanic, the song is about something much more I think. It is more about those shady characters one meets in places like bars or other public places who have a lot to say about everything. You know the ones who despite your best efforts to look away or act disinterested always seem to target you making you wonder if you have a big sign over your head saying ‘Talk To Me!’ The ones you are slightly wary of who deftly weave tales of their lifetime of hardship and woe better than any poet can. Who have more opinions about life than the op-ed section does in the newspaper. The ones who struggle and tell you about every hardship they have ever been stricken with yet somehow maintain an incredible “oh well, that’s life” sort of attitude.  Much like the character of Ted The Mechanic in this song by Deep Purple. Inevitably, the reluctance I feel in those situations is often replaced by a sort of reverence towards them and feeling much as they say in the song- “the beauty of it was that he was right!” Usually it ends with a drink and a glass raised as I think in private, well done you clever bastard, well done!

One final quick thought about Deep Purple themselves. This song comes from their 1996 album Purpendicular and marked a bit of a change of sound for the band courtesy of a new guitarist. The one thing that has remained in all versions of the band is that they still rock and above it all are LOUD. I would like to take a moment to personally thank Deep Purple for causing loss of hearing over a 24 hour period after seeing them perform in the late 1980’s, chiefly due to the organ playing of the late great Jon Lord.  I salute you all!

Vavoom: Ted The Mechanic-Written By Ian Gillan, Roger Glover, Jon Lord, Ian Paice & Steve Morse

Follow Me on Facebook-https://www.facebook.com/SoundtrackPhoto

Follow Me On Twitter-https://twitter.com/SoundtrackPhoto

Follow Me On Instagram-https://instagram.com/soundtrackphoto/

All Photographs By Robert P. Doyle

*Photo Shuffle is a new, very short slice of my regular blogs based on setting my Ipod on shuffle and matching up one of my photographs to whatever comes up.

16 thoughts on “Photo Shuffle-Ted The Mechanic

  1. You need to stop drinking in bars, Robert! lol jk…the song definitely had a bar vibe…at least the bars that I’ve seen on tv. I haven’t been to a bar in ages. Other than a glass or two of red wine, I’m not a big drinker. Sounds like you’ve had quite the experience or two meeting new friends there 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • In truth I don’t drink in those kinds of bars often Tasha. We like the nice pubs where you can get some good food and drink and nice company. There is a difference lol! But depending on where you are, sometimes the only option is to go to a place that can only lovingly be called a dive bar. My wife had a book once that was a guide to the best dive bars in NYC. The worst the bathrooms were and the dirtiest they were the better rating it got as a dive bar lol. It can be a fun thing sometimes, but I like the other way much better typically!

      Like

  2. Robert, you sure are gracious. I haven’t encountered those types of people in bars as much as I have on airplanes, but I usually stay stuck on the “I really don’t want to talk and you’re annoying me” phase. But, you’ve inspired me to listen a little longer. Maybe I’ll find out that whoever was talking my ear off was right all along.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t frequent bars, but I have been on coffee dates with “the ones who struggle and tell you about every hardship they have ever been stricken with yet somehow maintain an incredible “oh well, that’s life” sort of attitude”. They talked for HOURS, neglecting to show any interest in what I had to say, and then disappeared…probably because they thought, “Wow, she doesn’t have much to say.” I did, but I never got the chance, dammit! lol

    Thanks for yet another great post. I do enjoy this series, my friend. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

