Monochrome Mondays

For me one aspect I particularly love about photography is the fact it can make its subject timeless. It freezes the object of the photograph in place, forever preserving it in time. Locked in place as it was the day the photo was taken. Sometimes though, the subject matter is itself timeless and my action of taking a photo becomes a way for me to prove the scene has remained unchanged over time for myself. Such was the case with last weeks photo in Monochrome Mondays of one of my favorite spots in Ireland. Similarly, a fabulously rickety old bridge in Wellfleet, Massachusetts known as Uncle Tim’s Bridge has stood unchanged since my first encounter with it over 20 years ago. Long may more things stay that way in this chaotic world!

Uncle Tim's Bridge, Wellfleet Massachusetts
Uncle Tim’s Bridge, Wellfleet Massachusetts

Follow Me on Facebook-https://www.facebook.com/SoundtrackPhoto

Follow Me On Twitter-https://twitter.com/SoundtrackPhoto

Follow Me On Instagram-https://instagram.com/soundtrackphoto/

All Photographs By Robert P. Doyle

24 thoughts on “Monochrome Mondays

      1. Things get renamed a lot here, and it’s really inconvenient, and sometimes heartbreaking. Try to read this hilarious short story by R. K. Narayan called ‘Lawley Road’ which is about a road being renamed multiple times.

        Liked by 2 people

      2. I’ll look out for it. Ironically I just picked up a book of short stories by Colm Toibin on the weekend. I don’t read enough short stories I have realized! That is pretty unbelievable though. Is there a logical reason why things change so much?

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I LOVE Colm Toibin!!! I’m so jealous of you right now because I haven’t been to the library in ages to pick more up. Have you read his Nora Webster?

        I’ve had a bit of a book haul recently. Reading a Wallander novel, a whodunnit that Kenneth Branagh made into a series you might be familiar with.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. The Branagh series sounds familiar, but not read any of them. I have been catching up on some Agatha Christie (I adore Poirot!) I have not read Toibin’s Nora Webster. I read (but have not seen) Brooklyn. To be honest, maybe because my own mother came from Ireland in the 1950’s to family in Brooklyn, I was predisposed to feel like I knew the story already so it was not my favorite. But just a month or so ago I read The Blackwater Lightship which was simply stunning.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Have yet to read the last. I prefer the book of Brooklyn too, but the movie was well-cast, well-acted, and Saoirse Ronan was specifically stunning. Nora Webster takes place in the same world. I’ve also read The Testament of Mary, which was brilliant.

        Liked by 1 person

      6. I can’t imagine you will dislike Blackwater Lightship. The language was beautiful. I did enjoy his writing in Brooklyn, but I have noticed something in contemporary Irish writers who set stories in America-I never feel like they get the vernacular quite right. I have yet to find one that truly gets it right in fact. Roddy Doyle’s sequel to A Star Called Henry was Oh Play That Thing and I found it quite maddening for that reason!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Your reverie reminds of this quotation I read a long time back.
    ‘If you think photographs are not important, wait till they’re all you have got left.’

    Changed my perspective regarding pictures. 🙂
    Great post.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I love it!! Excellent shot of the bridge and it looks great in black and white. Too bad you don’t have a shot from 20 years ago so we could compare it ourselves (whether it still looks the same or not)….but we’ll take your word for it….this time. lol

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Lol…well I might have some deep in the archives but I know they were all shot on film, so not so easy to get here for an in depth analysis 🙂 But thank you! Pretty sure you have seen this one before on my social media but it is a favorite one!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

