Take Back This House

Originally written in December 2016, not long after the U.S. Election. Oysterband just released a new song called My Country Too last week. Once I heard it, I knew I had to add it to this post. Though written from their own perspective living in the UK, the words are relevant to our world in general. “We don’t blame souls that good luck missed, being sick’s a trick, being poor’s a crime. We don’t deal with rape by putting women down, We don’t guard our land by letting children drown.’ The words floored me and the song deserves to be heard. If you like it, please share it!

Soundtrack Of A Photograph

Early on in this blogging journey of the past three years I made a lot of mistakes. It is inevitable that it should happen of course. I had not done any writing since college some 30 years before after all, and even then it was not my strong suit. It is still a learning process and as I go on, I still learn more every time I sit down and put these posts together. The biggest thing I have learned is to be more focused and succinct when I write. I have thought about re-working some of my older and longer posts in this manner the same way an artist or a band revisits a song from the past. But much like a 1980’s song awash with synthesizers and drum beats that sounds painfully dated, it is sometimes best to move on and write something new instead.

Which is not…

View original post 1,045 more words

4 thoughts on “Take Back This House

  1. Not sure how I missed this, but I have seen your growth over the years (wow…it has been a couple of years, eh?) and you just keep getting better and better! It’s nice to witness it first hand

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

