Monochrome Mondays-The Sea

For today’s Monochrome Mondays I thought about the sea. For many of us summer would not be complete without going to the beach at least once. Of course when I was younger we went to beaches a couple of times a year, doused with sunscreen and nourished with hot dogs and ice cream. Sadly my very pale skin color does not allow me to enjoy the beach or wade in the surf  these days like I used to as a 10 year old. Quite frankly its just not fun to have to be covered up so much and fighting the crowds for a plot of territory for the afternoon so I tend to leave the beach for early mornings or evenings and off times of the year now. What I sacrifice in the pleasure of cooling down on a hot day is made up for in watching the sea crashing in and out. There of course is something so compelling and soothing about watching the sea. It can be both gentle and forceful. The sound of the waves can lull you to sleep, and the power of the waves can inflict damage suddenly. This last thought was inspired by the late Sandy Denny’s song The Sea. She first performed it with the group Fotheringay in the early 1970’s. While doing some research for my book recently, I came across something she said about the song herself-

“The sea seemed to become a sort of person, like a mind, and that’s what I have tried to convey, the power of the sea.”

I took this photo last September on a beach in Cape Cod, Massachusetts. It was a beautiful day. A little chilly, but the sea was essentially calm. If I had come back the next day it would have been different. The next day, maybe even more so. Thinking about Sandy Denny’s words, I think her song conveys that idea. We have calm and peaceful moods, and we can have stormy, turbulent moods, just like the sea itself. Though I seldom enjoy the pleasures of being ‘in’ the sea, I still am very much a part ‘of’ the sea. And I think that is why I enjoy taking photos of it so much.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H0IMZs7u0Wo

The Sea-Written By Sandy Denny

Follow Me on Facebook-https://www.facebook.com/SoundtrackPhoto

Follow Me On Twitter-https://twitter.com/SoundtrackPhoto

Follow Me On Instagram-https://instagram.com/soundtrackphoto/

All Photographs By Robert P. Doyle

SHARES AND LIKES APPRECIATED!

 

19 thoughts on “Monochrome Mondays-The Sea

    1. Sometimes I worry that because blogs go ‘international’ that I may be relating stories to people that may not have a clue of what I’m talking about! Like going to the sea. Then again, the U.S. being large, I’m sure there are lots of people in the middle of it who have never been to the sea either! I hope you do someday though. And get to hear some vinyl records 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I definitely believe that the sea is for everyone. You just have to find the right place. For example, Spain is for those who can swim in the sea. Ireland is for those who just enjoy looking at it. I refuse to wade in there, because it is so cold and I am just not made for it, but it’s never too far away (as I’m sure you saw yourself) and it’s always beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Agreed. I did thoroughly enjoy swimming in the Bahamas a few years ago which was pure bliss. I have gone so far as going completely into the ocean in Donegal years ago…and promptly came out again! But what you say is very true. There are places to swim, there are places to look!

      Like

Leave a Reply

