Photo Shuffle-Coffee & Roses

I pressed ‘Play’ on my Ipod and this is what I heard…Coffee And Roses By Thea Gilmore

Since I started this occasional Photo Shuffle series last month I realized that one of the best things about it was that I could feature more artists here. Often times in my regular blogs I am searching for a substantial theme, with lyrics that really match the photo, and a photo that really matches the lyrics. Though that is still the goal here, the brevity of these Photo Shuffle posts allows me to operate on a simpler level and make quicker decisions based on a lyric or even a song title. Therefore I was especially glad to see this song and artist come up when I hit the play button this morning for I have long wanted to feature the songs of Thea Gilmore on this blog but I could never figure out how to do it.

There are few better songwriters out there these days than Thea Gilmore, whom I first heard some 14 years or so (has it really been that long?). Right away I was impressed with her writing and over all these years the admiration has never waned. It is impossible in such a short space as this to dissect her lyrics which is the reason I have found it so hard to do a blog devoted to her up to now. Her words are by equal terms forthright, heartbreaking and vitriolic and full of startling observations. One of those songwriters whose seemingly simple reworking of a phrase hits you hard. In her canon of songs this happens quite often, from Juliet (Keep That In Mind) comes “Well I know you want to make the news but lately all you do is memorize the headlines.” From The Things We Never Said, “I’m pretty good at curtain calls, in fact I’ve been practicing my swan song”and from the song featured here Coffee And Roses, “I’m the architect of sorrow, the girl in in minor key disguise. Lyrical observations like this are why fans of her music include people like Joan Baez, Neil Gaiman, Mike Scott and Bruce Springsteen and why humble bloggers like myself look back in awe at what she does.  How does she do it? I would need another separate blog devoted solely to her words to be even close to explaining it all.

Which leads me to the photo I have selected for this song, built simply around one word in the title-coffee. I don’t know what importance that magical elixir coffee might have on how Thea comes up with such wonderful lyrics, but I can attest to what it does for bloggers such as myself. The one thing you will find from looking around other blogs as much as I do is that love of coffee seems to be the one commonality shared between all of us who write them.  In the ‘About’ pages for most of the bloggers I follow you will usually find some sort of devotion to this wonderful beverage and I add my name to the list for assisting me in getting these blogs to you. So go on, pour yourself a cup and listen to some Thea Gilmore. I promise both Thea’s music and the coffee will be satisfying!

Coffee And Roses-Written By Thea Gilmore

Follow Me on Facebook-https://www.facebook.com/SoundtrackPhoto

Follow Me On Twitter-https://twitter.com/SoundtrackPhoto

Follow Me On Instagram-https://instagram.com/soundtrackphoto/

All Photographs By Robert P. Doyle

*Photo Shuffle is a new, very short slice of my regular blogs based on setting my Ipod on shuffle and matching up one of my photographs to whatever comes up.

SHARES AND LIKES APPRECIATED!

4 thoughts on “Photo Shuffle-Coffee & Roses

  1. I particularly enjoyed this song Robert, most likely because I could picture you in your NY apartment with this playing in the background. lol Also because it has a lovely melody and flows well. What genre of music is it?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Tasha, you are starting to get to know me too well lol! I love the melody on this one too. Melody is probably my favorite element to most music actually. In terms of genre, I would put her in the rock category because she has a rock sensibility I think. Or maybe folk-rock because it has that lyrical connection to someone like Bob Dylan. Thanks as always for the comments Tasha!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad you enjoyed. The funny thing is I didn’t actually go in this place, which is up near Syracuse, but I just liked it for that road side Americana kind of vibe. 10 cent coffee in tiny cups works for me for combating over priced coffee which speaking of…I think I need a cup right now lol

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment