Two Cities, Two Streets

Just about one year ago, Soranny from the blog Sorysworld and I found each other working on our first collaboration, a blog post called Two Cities, Two BridgesWe set a date, a time and place, each in our respective cities and we picked our favorite bridge…you see we kind of have a thing for bridges, we like taking photos of them. The post received a great response, and it wasn’t too long before we thought about working together again. One probably drunken night, we came up with the idea of shooting Canal Street, using the same idea behind last years project, but with a different subject matter, since both cities share streets of that name. We decided to choose 5 photos that in a small way represented what Canal Street is all about, both in New York and in New Orleans. We hope you all enjoy our selection, or that at least this post inspires you to come visit our cities.

Robert writes-

First let me say what a thrill it is to be working with Soranny once again. She remains one of my favorite photographers, and I urge you to check out her other posts and her Instagram. She does a wonderful job capturing her love for New Orleans through her camera lens. You really feel the sense of life in her shots. Canal Street in Manhattan is an interesting place. Historically it was built over a poorly considered canal downtown. In time it became the early location of the jewelry trade, before becoming more of the commercial district it is today, full of vendors selling ‘genuine’ Ray Ban sunglasses and ‘Gucci’ handbags. Canal Street also divides the neighborhoods of Little Italy and Chinatown, which provides a great cross-section of cultures to soak in. Having only 5 photos to choose from, it was impossible to showcase all of my walk on Canal Street. What I did come up with were some of my favorite things I saw that day-old buildings and signs, different cultures and people. That is a cool thing that happens when you explore a street like Canal-everything comes to life-sight, sounds and smells. I enjoyed seeing such a well known street through my camera lens, and I hope you enjoy it too. Here are my choices-

Soranny writes-

So here we are again, about a year ago Robert and I found each other thanks to the magic of WordPress, and right away respect and love for each others work developed and of course the desire to work together no matter the distance. Last year we published our first collaboration, Two Cities, Two Bridges, with a great response from everyone, and of course we are back at it again. I love New Orleans, that is no secret, and I love New York, so what better way to express that love by showing off Canal Street! Something that both cities have in common beside that word New in the name. While in New York, Canal is a chaotic commerce center where Chinatown and Little Italy come together. Here in New Orleans Canal is where the French Quarter’s meet the Central Business District (CBD), where old meets new, and life becomes history. You can see how the industrial revolution and the 21st century took over just crossing the street and leaving narrow streets meant for horses and wagons behind to be replaced by modern architecture and businesses. Colonial houses become straight line glass buildings, but 100 years does not seem that long ago. A lot happens along Canal Street in New Orleans-restaurants, shops, doctors offices and hotels all in one strip, the 9-5 workers give way to the erratic night life that starts where Bourbon meets Canal in a never ending circle of ‘regular’ vs ‘eccentric’. Definitely Canal is one of the best examples of how New Orleans traditions adapt to the modern world, how we work hard but still know how to have fun, and how this wonderful community remains up to date with the changing world but never leaving behind what makes us New Orleans.

Soranny’s photos

Here’s Robert and a Canal Street sign in New York-

And Soranny with a selfie and a Canal Street sign in New Orleans

 

 

Follow Soranny’s blog-https://sorysworld.wordpress.com/

Follow Soranny on Instagram- @soryely_photo

Follow Me on Facebook-https://www.facebook.com/SoundtrackPhoto

Follow Me On Twitter-https://twitter.com/SoundtrackPhoto

Follow Me On Instagram-https://instagram.com/soundtrackphoto/

All Photographs By Robert P. Doyle and Soranny Martinez

SHARES AND LIKES APPRECIATED!

14 thoughts on “Two Cities, Two Streets

  1. lol @ “one…drunken night”. I remember seeing Canal street in NY when we were taking a tour of the city on one of those buses! I thoroughly enjoyed the photos that you and Soranny took! As I was looking at them I was saying to myself ” I really wish they would have taken pics of the actual street signs” and lo and behold as I strolled further down the page there they were!!! You guys make great collaborators! Please do more!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Tasha! What I love about Canal Street in NY is that it still has a lot of the character of NYC the way it was not too long ago. I hope it stays that way. I don’t want to see too much ‘gloss’ put on everything. Cities should be gritty sometimes, and Canal is gritty! I am glad you were thinking along those lines about the street signs. Soranny has great ideas (that was one of them), and I love her photos, and I’m gonna call it right here…we will collaborate again! Thanks as always, and glad you liked the photos we took.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Loved this idea! I learned a couple things from your post — one, that Canal Street in NYC was built on top of a canal (how did I not know that?) and two, that NOLA has a Canal Street. Also, I found it interesting that most of your photos were in black and white. It brings an unexpected sense of calm to a place that I usually associate with a chaotic explosion of colors, sounds and smells.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much Jhaneel! Yes apparently there was once a stream there…which became polluted, so they built the canal…which became a complete smelly mess…so they paved over it all lol. I’ve yet to be to NOLA so I rely on my friends like Soranny and Carol to enlighten me until I get down there! The black and whites were not intentional-I shot over 100 photos the day we both set out. Quite often I’ll shoot the same photo in color and monochrome, but when I got home and saw them on the laptop, they really stood out more. I know what you mean about the chaos and sensory and olfactory overload on Canal Street. If you have never been that way, start all the way on the west side at the beginning where you will see some great old buildings (and its also quieter). And a little speck of a park along Canal Street near the Holland Tunnel entrance was where I shot the photos in my previous post-Water Is Life. So it was a productive little photo shoot! Thanks again for the great comment 🙂

      Like

  3. Why am I not surprised (about the polluted canal)? haha. And I’ll have to venture out a bit further – most of my time on Canal Street has been more to the east. Although when I lived in the Lower East Side for a few years, I occasionally found a few of those quieter areas you’re talking about.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know right? Lol. One thing I love about taking photos around and about in the city is that I see things I never noticed before. Now I’ve walked that east side of Canal loads of times…but with a camera in my hand it became like seeing it all for the first time.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Top Posts Of 2016 | Soundtrack Of A Photograph

Leave a comment